European Committee for Iron and Steel Standardization (ECISS) 

In the history of European construction, ECSC (the European Coal and Steel Community) was the first cornerstone - predating the treaty of Rome. In 1953, the Coordinating Commission for the Nomenclature of Iron and Steel Products (COCOR) was established. Between its creation and 1986 it created about 200 reference documents, called Euronorms, most of which served as a basis for the preparation of the existing European Standards in this sector. Since 1986, the standardization of iron and steels products in Europe has been conducted by the European Committee for Iron and Steel Standardization (ECISS).

ECISS is an independent body and an Associated Standards Body of CEN, the standardization programme of which is financially supported by the European Commission (EC) and EFTA. It is linked to CEN for administrative and legal purposes. ECISS operates according to its own Internal Regulations. It is managed by a Coordinating Commission (COCOR) and is serviced by a central secretariat employed by CEN, but reporting directly to COCOR.

ECISS aims at producing standards on the definition, classification, testing, analysis and technical delivery requirements of the products of the iron and steel industry. ECISS objective is to have these standards implemented as national standards by its members.

ECISS Members come from the national standards bodies of the EC and EFTA countries, which are also CEN members and want to collaborate with ECISS. Each ECISS member may be represented in COCOR by a COCOR delegation comprising a maximum of three delegates: representing their national standards body, their producers and their users. Work items to be included in the work programme may be proposed by ECISS and CEN members, the EC, EFTA and other European organizations.

ECISS documents

ECISS contacts

President representing National Standardization Bodies
Mr Mika Vartiainen

Vice president representing steel producers
Mr François Treillard

Vice president representing steel users
Dr Frank Wohnsland

Mr Alexandre Beltrão