CEN General Assembly elects Board Members and decides on strategic way forward  

CEN Members elected their Board Members and Officers during their Statutory General Assembly in Bled (Slovenia) on 21 June in view of finalising their Administrative Board composition for 2019:

They elected Mr Vincent LAFLECHE (FR) as President with a second term of office 01/01/2019 to 31/12/2020.

They also elected the following board members:

  • Mr Olivier PEYRAT (FR) for a second term of office;
  • Mrs Tatjana BOJANIC (RS);
  • Mr Gheorghe TUCU (RO);
  • Mrs Elisabeth STAMPFL-BLAHA (AT) and;  
  • Mr Peter MAAS (NL).

Their term of office will run from 01/01/2019 to 31/12/2020,

CEN congratulates them on their appointment.

The CEN members, together with the CENELEC members, also approved during the common session of their General Assemblies their consolidated strategic roadmap that guides the implementation of their Ambitions to 2020. The latter provides a clear link with the related budgetary and resource implications to enable informed decision-making. The members also approved the CEN and CENELEC Innovation Strategic Plan and agreed with the way forward in its implementation.

During their common session, in a spirit of bringing continuous improvement within the system, the members also discussed best practices identified at national level in the members’ assessment reports, and agreed to launch an initiative to promote the most efficient and effective way to seek periodical feedback from the experts working in the national technical committees.

The ISO Secretary General, Mr Sergio Mujica, also gave a presentation on behalf of ISO and IEC to outline their commitment to work closely together on IT tools especially in the context of digital transformation.

CEN members also warmly thanked SIST (Slovenia) for hosting the CEN-CENELEC Annual Meeting 2018 in the beautiful surrounding of Bled.

The CEN-CENELEC Annual Meeting 2019 will be hosted by ASRO (Romania), who has extended an official invitation to the CEN and CENELEC community.